Trying something new…

After reading articles on Yahoo news I came across a blog. A Family of 3 spent $250 for a month on food, eating out, anything that was not related to housing or medical care. http://smallnotebook.org/2010/07/01/the-no-spend-month/

So I figure why not try this with my husband and 10 month old son to see what we can do. We spend $400 a month on food to begin with, and that is just groceries, so it would be nice to drastically cut that down. Especially with baby #2 on the way!

I have no idea where to start with it though so this will be an interesting endeavor. Maybe going to the bank first and pulling cash and hiding the debit cars.  With Christmas coming this will be a hard month to try to do this. Though I know it can be done with a bit of planning. I think I wills tart with $300 only for the month since I really only have to plan meals for hubby and I. Son is still breastfed so table food is just extra and not enough to constitute a full serving just yet.

Ideas, tips, advice, feel free to post it! I would love some encouragement in this!

2 responses

  1. I’ve generally found that the grocery bill for the week tends to be smaller when I make larger batch items such as soups, curries, stir-fries, etc. Chickpea cauliflower curry tends to be a good one for that.

    Good luck!

    • I try to do large batches of things but more often than not it will go to waste because he will only eat leftovers once and that is for work the next day. That and he is very picky so it makes it difficult for me to make a lot of things that I like and that he will eat. Not to mention he would rather eat out then eat anything that I cook since he was raised eating out all the time. Terrible thing to do and one of his habits that I will never be able to change unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

