Chicken Soup and colds

Well with the change in the weather from hot to cool and windy, my little tribe has all gotten sick including me! You know that feeling, coughing, runny/stuffy nose, congestion, sore throat… Yeah all those lovely symptoms of the change in weather… That is what my whole family is suffering from, all at the same time which is nearly unheard of for us!  I am not a fan of medicine so I don’t take it unless it is a last resort, the hubby does and I only give it to the kids as a last resort when no other remedies work and they are just miserable. So I decided instead of the amazing sesame noodles I was going to make (recipe found here by Pioneer Woman, I stumbled across her blog and loved the recipe and so did the family!) and add in chicken, I am making chicken soup instead. I have no recipe I follow for my soup, made it one day a few years ago and hubby loved it so it is something I will make every so often especially when we are sick. 

Here is my recipe but feel free to adjust to your taste. It is not perfect and I am no master at writing recipes:)

Chicken Noodle Soup

 

2 large chicken breasts

3 carrots( 8″ long each), peeled and sliced

1 small onion, diced (I used red this time)

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 tbsp oregano, eyeballed

1/2 tbsp basil, eyeballed

1 cup rice, uncooked

8 cups Water(adjust to preference)

Noodles of choice, I am using Ditalini today

 

Put everything but noodles in a large pot and cook on low for a few hours

Add in noodles when carrots are just about done and cook until pasta is tender

Season and garnish to taste. We add in lemon, salt and pepper usually. Hubby likes garbanzo beans but I don’t have any to throw in so he doesn’t get any today in his soup. 

 

This can all be made in a crock pot as well. That is how I used to make it until I left my crock pot when we moved out here to the desert. Crockpot tends to take a little bit more time than on the stove depending on what setting you use. I would put it on low and it would take about 6 hours to be perfect for us. 

 

Enjoy! Make changes and adjust to your needs. I don’t have any set times for cooking as I tend to check every 30 minutes or so and sometimes takes longer other times it takes less depending on ingredients and how you are cooking. 

 

Leave a Reply

