Trucker Wife

So my husband is a truck driver, professional driver, what ever other terms there are for driving the big trucks on the road that haul our stuff to the stores. That makes me a trucker’s wife. He may not be out as long as some other drivers or even other professions, but with three young kid’s at home it seems like it is much longer. I home-school our children, we have no family out here and few friends, so the only reprieve I can get is when our babysitter is free (she works full time) or when he is home. Some days I feel like a single mom, minus the need to work to support my family, because I am so stressed over what needs to be done. Other days I enjoy every moment I get to spend with my children. This style of life isn’t easy, no matter how long you have been in it. Hubby drove for 5 months about 6 years ago but quit because our oldest was born.  He went back about a year ago, just before our baby turned 1 year old. The kid’s are used to it by now but some days it gets hard, especially the day after daddy leaves from being home for a few days. So I try to not plan anything the day or two following him being home so I can make life a bit easier on myself instead of having to tame tantrums all day long.  I can’t say I love this life but it is income, it puts food on the table, a roof over our heads, and clothes on our bodies. He enjoys driving and being in new places so he doesn’t get bored with the job unlike others in the past where he gets into a routine and it is the same day in and day out. Hubby just cannot stand that. I am thankful that he makes enough to support us so that I can stay home to raise our children and home-school them since public education here is not the best. There are worse things to be than a trucker wife. I know being a military spouse while your partner is on deployment is no easy feat. At least my hubby is home a few times a month and we have pretty much open contact with each other while he is driving from place to place. I wouldn’t change my life for anything though, because the joy the kid’s get at seeing daddy’s truck definitely makes it all worthwhile!

Leave a comment